daor eht fo dne eht ta nam eht

Walking to work today up a long hill beside dual carriageways; in the distance a man walks backwards.

I was late, he was slow; I gained on him.

He had handsome almond eyes – hollow as a cyborg’s – that shifted restlessly around, and when his head turned to check his trajectory, I noticed grey in the dark curls falling from where they were gathered by a scarlet Royal Mail rubber band.

He was taking notes, scribbling feverishly in a reporter’s notepad.  It made sense now.

‘Hurry up’ I said as I passed.

He smiled.

‘Cut off is today’, I whispered to his back.

 

My second assignment is submitted and I am SO GLAD.

Leave a reply. You know you want to.

